So Little Time

I have a new exercise program; it’s called ‘Short Bursts’. -JD, Scrubs

Well it isn’t a work out plan at the moment, but it is effecting how I go about tackling sewing projects. And who knows, maybe I will get it to actually help me exercise some too.

I started my first “big boy” job six months ago. This brought about many changes in my life. A new town, a new (wonderful) paycheck, and, more recently, a new schedule. I am receiving more projects and responsibilities at work lately, which means I am working a much longer schedule than I ever have in the past, even when taking 18+ hours of classes in school and working a part time job.

Generally when I get home, I just want to take a nap, walk Layla, and sit in my arm chair. When I think about working on gear, I get excited but have trouble working up the energy to get started.

And so this week, I’ve decided to take a lesson from a wonderful television show and start working in short bursts. What I mean by this is that I never plan to work for more than 30 minutes at a time. Knowing that, it has felt much easier finding the energy to start working. Once I’ve worked for 30 minutes, I continue working if I really want to, but if I am getting upset about something or annoyed, I make myself stop and do something simple like read or watch TV. I will then come back to the project the next day.

I’ve just completed my first week of this plan, and I have noticed two things. First, I feel more productive working each day rather than trying to pushing out a project in single long day of work on the weekend. Second, my sewing is better because I feel fresh each time I work on the project and am completely focused. I will be certain to write back once I have a chance to continue this pattern a bit more.

Leave a Reply

