New MYOG Skill: Crocheting

My girlfriend thought it would be fun to add to my skills and teach me how to crochet. Turns out it was pretty easy to learn. It only took my about 10 minutes to learn everything I needed to know and maybe another 20 of practice to have it right.

This let me make myself a brand spankin’ new 100% merino wool hat that fit me just right. I’ve always found the one-size-fits-all beanie to be a bit annoying. Mostly because I have trouble finding one that fits well and covers my entire ear. That problem is solved now.

The hat itself weighs in at 2.3oz. It makes it a bit heavier than what others may normally carry, but it is some very nice yarn and definitely warm and comfortable.

Total cost of the hat, including shipping and tools, was just under $15.

Covers my whole ear nicely.

I’m going to put together some pictures and possibly some videos on how to do it all after my move and new job calm down a bit. For anyone who is just really excited to give it a go though, I used a pattern designed by April Folts on her blog here. It is a crochet pattern, so if you don’t understand it don’t fret. You can Google some info or wait for me to get to making some tips. I did have to change it because my yarn was a finer weight. After Round 13, I continued like so:

Rnd14: *8 sc, 2sc in next sc* rep from *to * around (80)

Rnd 15: sc in each sc around

Rnd16: *9 sc, 2 sc in next sc* rep from *to * around (88)

Rnd 17: sc in each sc around

Rnd18:*8 sc, 2 sc in next sc* rep from *to * around (96)

Rnd 19 – Rnd 22: sc in each sc around

Rnd 23: Skip one sc, sc in next 23 sc, rep 3 times

Rnd 24 – done: sc in each sc around.

I added round 23 because the hat was getting a bit too wide from that point on. By skipping 4 you will be able to keep it from getting too large by the end. I strongly hope to find a bit of time between moving and new job to go about explaining what all of this means to the noobs like myself. Until then, I hope these cooler nights continue here in the SE so that I have an excuse to wear this thing a bit.

2 thoughts on “New MYOG Skill: Crocheting

  1. Interesting blog content. However I find the gray type on black and the small font size hard to read. It takes much more effort to read. Just my opinion.

    1. I appreciate the comment. I haven’t spent a whole lot of time on the looks of the blog, but I may try to find something a bit more reader-friendly in the near future.

Leave a Reply

